Arrow Fat Left Icon Arrow Fat Right Icon Arrow Right Icon Cart Icon Close Circle Icon Expand Arrows Icon Facebook Icon Instagram Icon Twitter Icon Hamburger Icon Information Icon Down Arrow Icon Mail Icon Mini Cart Icon Person Icon Ruler Icon Search Icon Shirt Icon Triangle Icon Bag Icon Play Video

Criminal Records

The Kut 'Valley Of Thorns'


Criminal Records

The Kut 'Valley Of Thorns'


Rock category Finalist of the UK Songwriting Contest 2017 and current Semi-Finalist of the International Songwriting Competition, The Kut, announces a World Wide Record Deal with Cargo Records for the long-awaited debut album Valley of Thorns'.

The album, produced by James Le Rock'( Skindred / Def Leppard / White Zombie / My Vitriol) finally sees the release of some of the live favourites heard on tour, and releases on Friday 13th April.

Active on the UK and European alt.rock scene, The Kut, is the alter-ego of multi-instrumentalist, Princess Maha. The live outfit has seen many guises, with the most recent line up featuring Diana Bartmann (drums) and Stella Vie (bass / bvs). Festival performances have included Download, Camden Rocks Festival, Rebellion Festival, Hard Rock Hell, Glastonbudget, Nice N Sleazy and Strummercamp among others.

Meanwhile, tours have spanned the UK, Italy, Czech Republic, Germany, Belgium and the Netherlands. Voted into the winning spots of the MTV Brand New Unsigned Poll for 2014, subsequent EP releases and tours have gained support from - deep breath - The Guardian, Metro, Scuzz, Kerrang! Magazine, Big Cheese, Planet Rock, BBC Introducing Lancashire, Kerrang! Radio, Metal Hammer, Big Cheese, Q and Classic Rock, AXS TV, MTV-U USA and many credible independents.

Maha announced that 'It's an absolute dream come true to sign with Cargo. They are super passionate about their artists - truly one of the UK's finest. The debut has been a long time coming, and I can't wait for everyone to hear it'.

Cargo and The Kut have partnered with Pledge Music to set the release in motion. 2017 saw The Kut featured as one of Kerrang! Magazine's Breakthrough Acts of 2017, while The Kut EP' was released on 500 limited edition picture disc for Record Store Day 2017, also featuring at number 4 in Kerrang! Magazines Top 10 Record Store Day Releases, alongside Baby Metal and Gerard Way.

The summer saw The Kut playing 21 UK mainland dates, and the year ended with the band claiming the Number 1 Spot in the Beyond 50 Promotions Top 50 Under the Radar UK Bands. Announcements for 2018 have included The Kut being added to the line ups of Camden Rocks Festival, Amplified Festival, Strummercamp Festival, Nice and Sleazy and Rebellion Festival. Rock fans - watch this space! <stamps pedal, wails>.

The Guardian - Editor's Pick - 'Your snarly singer-guitarist in the latest line up of this doughty girl-grunge trio. Shades of Courtney, Brody and L7, naturally, but with plenty of contemporary haters to aim her barbs at'

Metro - 'This trio of multi-talented girls with a 90s grunge alt-rock sound have been touring all over Europe'

Kerrang! Magazine - 'Led by Princess Maha, this is a neat twist on grunge pop'

Q Magazine - "There's a slice of angst-offloading gutter rock that's a kissing cousin of Hole, but The Kut's scuzz-covered family tree also stretches further back to the garage rampages of The Stooges.'

Rock Regeneration - "They have the songs, the stagecraft and a stellar work ethic. But don't take my word for it, go see them for yourselves'

Metal Hammer - "The Kut are like the bastard lovechild of Courtney Love and Marilyn Manson with awesome riffs and chaotic live shows"

Classic Rock Magazine - "Marks the precise point in the Venn diagram where L7 meets I Wanna Be Your Dog meets Courtney Love, which is equal parts terrifying and a cause for long and rowdy celebration. Punk's not dead, pass it on.'

1. Mind Games
2. Hollywood Rock N Roll
3. No Trace
4. I Want You Maniac
5. Love In The Rush Hour
6. I Am Vain
7. Alekhine's Gun
8. X-Ray Eyes
9. Bad Man
10. Mario

Release Date: 13/04/20018