Arrow Fat Left Icon Arrow Fat Right Icon Arrow Right Icon Cart Icon Close Circle Icon Expand Arrows Icon Facebook Icon Instagram Icon Twitter Icon Hamburger Icon Information Icon Down Arrow Icon Mail Icon Mini Cart Icon Person Icon Ruler Icon Search Icon Shirt Icon Triangle Icon Bag Icon Play Video

Rune Grammofon

In The Country 'Sounds And Sights'


Rune Grammofon

In The Country 'Sounds And Sights'


Ambitious, epic and grand in scale, In The Country's previous album Whiteout was an artistic triumph. Always a very powerful and exciting live act, it was only natural that a concert album should come at this stage of their career, after three studio albums and a number of Norwegian, European and US tours.

Originally planned as a concert dvd, In The Country invited video director Claus Arthur Breda-Gulbrandsen to bring a crew to film a couple of Norwegian shows in October 2010.

Claus had previously directed two videos for Morten's other band, Susanna and the Magical Orchestra. Not content with merely filming these shows, Claus (and the band as well) had bigger ambitions for a more expanded type of film, of which you can see the quite stunning results on the accompanying dvd, with its mysterious Tarkovsky-like dream sequences mixed with Hipgnosis type of images.

We consider this to be one of the finest music films ever produced in Norway and a treatment rarely given to a jazz band of any origin. Looking like something with a much bigger budget, It needs to be said that this is a labour of love from all involved, and especially the director.

Also watch out for the hidden video after the film has ended.In the meantime, we also decided to make it a part of an ordinary CD and LP package, believing this will actually mean that more people will be able to see and enjoy it.

Apart from selections from all the studio albums, there are three new tracks here including a beautiful interpretation of Mark Knopfler's Brothers In Arms.

Morten Qvenild formed In The Country with fellow music students Roger Arntzen and Pål Hausken at the Norwegian Academy of Music in Oslo in 2003.
They have released three albums, all on Rune Grammofon, This Was The Pace Of My Heartbeat (2005), Losing Stones, Collecting Bones (2006) and Whiteout (2009) to much critical acclaim.

Downbeat called their debut one of the finest and most arresting albums to come out of Europe that year, Mojo said startling,  Straight No Chaser said fantastic and a host of others followed.

Tracks: Afraid, Whiteout, Slow Down, How To Get Acquainted, Kung Home, Brothers In Arms, Torch Fishing, Tree Canopy Walkway.

Said about the previous albums:
An album of wobbly serenity and arid self-assurance. New York Times (US)

Unfurl with subtlety, charm and an unadorned grace.¨ The Independent (UK)

Spaceous and memorable. The Guardian (UK)

One of the finest and most arresting albums to come out of Europe this year.
Downbeat (US)

Carry the emotional power of a screaming stack of Marshall amps. Jazztimes (US)

A startling debut. 4/5. Mojo (UK)


1. Afraid
2. Whiteout
3. Slow Down
4. How To Get Acquainted
5. Kung Home
6. Brothers In Arms
7. Torch Fishing
8. Tree Canopy Walkway

1. Afraid
2. Whiteout
3. Slow Down
4. Kung Home
5. Brothers In Arms
6. Ursa Major
7. Tree Canopy Walkway