Arrow Fat Left Icon Arrow Fat Right Icon Arrow Right Icon Cart Icon Close Circle Icon Expand Arrows Icon Facebook Icon Instagram Icon Twitter Icon Hamburger Icon Information Icon Down Arrow Icon Mail Icon Mini Cart Icon Person Icon Ruler Icon Search Icon Shirt Icon Triangle Icon Bag Icon Play Video

Rural Tapes Recordings

  • 'Rural Tapes 'Inner Space Music' Vinyl LP

    Rural Tapes Recordings

    'Rural Tapes 'Inner Space Music' Vinyl LP

    Sold out

    Sold out

    Rural Tapes Recordings

    'Rural Tapes 'Inner Space Music' Vinyl LP


    Sold out
    On November 18th, Rural Tapes is back with a follow-up to the highly acclaimed debut album "Rural Tapes" from 2021. A year and a half ago, Arne Kjelsrud Mathisen was declared a genius by Mojo, who described his music as a hybrid between Kraftwerk, Air, Tortoise and Serge Gainsbourg.

    While the debut album was created over a period of almost 10 years, the music on "Inner space music" has been composed and recorded during one intense month in January 2022 in Mathisens own studio in the countryside of Grimstad, Norway. 

    Again, a number of high-profile musicians have left their mark on Rural Tapes' music, including The Dream Syndicate frontman Steve Wynn, PJ Harvey saxophonist Terry Edwards and REM guitarist Peter Buck and Scott McCaughey, both of whom are Mathisen's bandmates in the psychedelic jangle pop group The No Ones.

    1. Inner space
    2. Candystore
    3. Bossa nova for the contrails of my tears
    4. Waltz for the living dead
    5. 5-a-side
    6. Listen
    7. Sea urchins
    8. Arkestra piece for hard-working ants
    9. Music for shadows to follow
    10. Leaving inner space

    “A level of its very own” MOJO 

    "Rural Tapes delights in the unexpected. At every turn, you encounter something new, something to be marvelled over. Kjelsrud Mathisen has said he wants this music to stand the test of time. It will." The Independent

    “A dreamy self-titled debut full of broad soundscapes... Melding smooth jazz with floaty puffs of synth, the album is both meditative and uplifting, the sort of soundtrack you might expect from a dream sequence in a 1970s film." GQ Magazine

    “From the first notes of this debut album from respected Norwegian producer Arne Kjelsrud Mathisen, you know you’re in for a treat. As Rural Tapes he makes rich, warm technicolour soundtracks… it really is delightful stuff.” Electronic Sound

    "This is an excellent debut album." Prog Magazine

    "Mathisen’s musical pedigree makes Rural Tapes an intriguing musical journey of an album that takes in pulsating Krautrock, neo-classical moods and dreamy, proggy pop, all formed through an intuitive composition process." Shindig Magazine
    Visit product page