Arrow Fat Left Icon Arrow Fat Right Icon Arrow Right Icon Cart Icon Close Circle Icon Expand Arrows Icon Facebook Icon Instagram Icon Twitter Icon Hamburger Icon Information Icon Down Arrow Icon Mail Icon Mini Cart Icon Person Icon Ruler Icon Search Icon Shirt Icon Triangle Icon Bag Icon Play Video

Get On Down

  • Arthur Russell (Dinosaur L) 'Definitive Sleeping Bag Record (24 '“ 24 Music)' - Cargo Records UK

    Get On Down

    Arthur Russell (Dinosaur L) 'Definitive Sleeping Bag Record (24 ââ'š¬â‚¬œ 24 Music)'

    Sold out

    Sold out
    Sold out
    4 LP hand silk screened box set.

    Though classically trained Arthur Russell's major contributions to the music world is in the dance genre. Despite the fact that his pioneering work in the late 70s and on through the 80s was only quietly acknowledged at the time, his long term impact is best described as formidable. Russell's innovative; left field dance records flew way ahead of what people were used to hearing at the time, due in part, to his involvement in New York's downtown avant-garde music scene.

    He scored several hits at clubs like The Paradise Garage (Larry Levan was a huge supporter) and his biggest tunes, 'Go Bang!' and 'Is It All Over My Face?' are worldwide hits and still played to this day.

    Sleeping Bag Records and Get On Down are proud to present his seminal work, the full length '24-->24 Music' expanded to a deluxe 4 x LP box set.

    In addition to the music found on the original issue of the album this collection includes rare 12' remixes and edits including the highly coveted 'Go Bang! (Walter Gibbons Mix)' and the infamous'rare 'You Can't Hold Me Down (Test Pressing Version).'

    Records 3 and 4 round out the rest of his audio credits with Sleeping Bag and features his alias'and collaborations; Bonzo Goes To Washington, Felix, Sounds Of JHS 126 Brooklyn and Indian Ocean.

    The four LPs are housed inside beautiful one of a kind, hand pulled screen printed sleeves that tuck into the extra durable, matching screen printed box.

    The audio is accompanied by an oversized, 20 page booklet featuring unreleased photos by Janette Beckman, words courtesy of Russell biographer Tim Lawrence, testimonials by some of the greats in the field, vintage artwork and other ephemera. Sadly, we lost Arthur in 1992, but his art lives on and his influence is still felt in the world of dance music and beyond. For this, we Thank You Arthur. DINOSAUR L
    Visit product page
  • Cypress Hill 'Cypress Hill: 25th Anniversary Skull' - Cargo Records UK

    Get On Down

    Cypress Hill 'Cypress Hill: 25th Anniversary Skull'

    Sold out

    Sold out
    Sold out
    Cypress Hill teamed up with Get On Down to celebrate the 25th anniversary of their 1991 debut with an ultra deluxe "25th Anniversary Skull" reissue.

    The entire set is housed in a unique, hard resin black skull - a faithful, 3-D physical recreation of the group's 1991 logo. A CD with re-mastered audio and a 100-plus page hard cover book are also included.

    The book features extensive liner notes by journalist Chris Faraone with input from B-Real, Sen Dog and DJ Muggs, and also includes full album lyrics and rarely seen photos provided by the group, as well as press clippings from 1991.

    Cypress Hill's self-titled debut album was hard as nails, with very few pop concessions. There was humour, but it was laced by cackling, homicidal sneering. Not well known outside of the hardcore hip-hop scene at first, faces of the three group members weren't usually shown clearly in press photos; they preferred the shadows. As their first singles began hitting the airwaves and record racks, the press and music fans started to take notice. From the opening notes of the group's first single, 'The Phuncky Feel One,' to deeper album cuts like 'Stoned Is The Way Of The Walk' and 'Tres Equis,' it was clear that Cypress Hill was something different. And very, very dope.

    The world Cypress Hill espoused was gang-ridden and far from cheery, but they managed to laugh through the pain. Lead rapper B-Real took each fuzzed-out, rock-hard DJ Muggs beat as a challenge, jumping around it like a spark off a joint as it makes its way to the concrete. MC Sen Dog always had B-Real's back, to bring intensity and a no-bullshit gruffness that made the group both menacing and unpredictable. When they introduced percussionist Eric Bobo to the mix in the early 90s, it brought new dimension to the band, making their live performances one of the most unique and accomplished shows in hip-hop.

    Journalist and author Chris Faraone highlights the group's relationship in the reissue's liner notes (which is included only in limited edition Skull) saying, '[By the late 80s] the undisputed Cypress unit finally formed. B and Sen realized that their diametric styles - the latter's deep wrangle, the former's inimitable high notes - complemented one another righteously.

    By then Muggs had bangers in the bag, as well as industry experience from a jaunt with the New York duo 7A3. B and Sen waited while Muggs messed with 7A3, and in that time began to build the blueprint for their raucous and weeded no-holds-barred style. Besides getting schooled on industry pitfalls, Muggs had also grown into hip-hop's most formidable young producer, while straddling the bi-coastal gap.'

    Cypress Hill's debut went gold by the end of 1991 and has since pushed past double platinum status, making it the first album for a Latino-American hip hop group to do so.

    The album received raves from the likes of Rolling Stone and the Los Angeles Times, saw a #1 Hot Rap Single with the release of 'The Phuncky One' and helped the band win Artist Of The Year at the 1992 Source Awards. After 25 years, it should come as no surprise that Cypress Hill is a cornerstone of the group's live set to this day.

    1. Pigs
    2. How I Could Just Kill A Man
    3. Hand On The Pump
    4. Hole In The Head
    5. Ultraviolet Dreams
    6. Light Another
    7. The Phuncky Feel One
    8. Break It Up
    9. Real Estate
    10. Stoned Is The Way Of The Walk
    11. Psychobetabuckdown
    12. Something For The Blunted
    13. Latin Lingo
    14. The Funny Cypress Hill Shit
    15. Tres Equis
    16. Born To Get Busy
    Visit product page