Arrow Fat Left Icon Arrow Fat Right Icon Arrow Right Icon Cart Icon Close Circle Icon Expand Arrows Icon Facebook Icon Instagram Icon Twitter Icon Hamburger Icon Information Icon Down Arrow Icon Mail Icon Mini Cart Icon Person Icon Ruler Icon Search Icon Shirt Icon Triangle Icon Bag Icon Play Video

Empty Music

  • Martin Thulin 'Into The Light' Vinyl LP - Beer Transparent

    Empty Music

    Martin Thulin 'Into The Light' Vinyl LP - Beer Transparent

    Sold out

    Sold out
    Sold out
    Limited Edition Beer Transparent Coloured LP (300 only).

    Solo project from Exploded View's Martin Thulin. Exploded View is on Sacred Bones Records and fronted by Anika.

    Martin Thulin has produced the last three albums for the American band Crocodiles (Fat Possum). 'The result is a collection with echoes of everything, from quirky, upbeat pop tunes with Joe Meek-ish arrangements to the seven minute instrumental track 'Pictures Of Woods'. The Wire - ¦..

    Since 2016 the Swedish born Thulin has been focusing on his band Exploded View, fronted by Anika (Stones Throw, Invada Records), which so far has released three records on Brooklyn based Sacred Bones. He has simultaneously produced three albums for the Californian group Crocodiles, but now it is time for the release of his new solo material, the second solo album Into The Light.

    Into the Light is a nostalgic and introspective album, nevertheless it's at the same time all about breaking loose and leaving the past behind you. Moving forward into the light. It's obviously a word play, as to walk into the light could also mean death. The fragility of life, as death basically lurks anywhere around the corner, is a pervading theme on the album. It could be your otherwise healthy cat out of the blue falling ill or a brutal earthquake, like the one that hit Martin's current hometown, Mexico City, in September 2017.

    The music maybe doesn't sound like the record's mayor influences; The Cure's Faith and Nico's The End, which Martin claims were among the few albums he could listen to from start to end during the making.

    Martin's music is far more electronic though, sometimes with direct nods to Kraftwerk II or Ralf & Florian. It certainly does have a flavor of that European darkness and nostalgia which all four albums have in common.

    Side A
    1. Not Afraid To Die
    2. Here In My Room
    3. Amazonian Smoke
    4. Thin White Duchess

    Side B
    1. New Dawn Coming
    2. Day Out Day In
    3. Upstairs Room
    4. Silence You Forever
    5 . Amalgam
    Visit product page