Arrow Fat Left Icon Arrow Fat Right Icon Arrow Right Icon Cart Icon Close Circle Icon Expand Arrows Icon Facebook Icon Instagram Icon Twitter Icon Hamburger Icon Information Icon Down Arrow Icon Mail Icon Mini Cart Icon Person Icon Ruler Icon Search Icon Shirt Icon Triangle Icon Bag Icon Play Video

Acid Ray / Media Roscom Production

  • The Darkside 'The Complete Studio Masters' - Cargo Records UK

    Acid Ray / Media Roscom Production

    The Darkside 'The Complete Studio Masters'



    Acid Ray / Media Roscom Production

    The Darkside 'The Complete Studio Masters'


    Legendary indie space rockers Sterling Roswell and Pete Bassman of Spacemen 3 return as The Darkside after a 23 year hiatus with a 5CD 'Complete Studio Masters' box set of remasters, remixes and demos. One of the projects to emerge from the groundbreaking efforts of the drone-rock pioneers, The Darkside led by Pete Bain (a.k.a. Pete Bassman), who on leaving Spacemen 3 prior returned to his hometown of Rugby, would be joined by fellow alumni and multi instrumentalist Sterling Roswell.

    Signed soon after to Beggars Banquet due to the strength of their demo's and live shows, The Darkside went on to unleash psychedelic gems including; 'Waiting For The Angels', 'Guitar Voodoo', 'Mystic Morning', 'All That Noise' and many more. Now, nearly 25 years on, Rosco and Pete have worked front line for both the re-mastering and artwork of this special release.

    Rosco aka Sterling Roswell explains: 'Contained are just some of the seeds that Pete and I planted in the spring time of our youth that are now bearing fruit with the help everyone at Beggars Banquet and Cargo Records, thanks and praises...

    This 5 CD box set contains the complete studio masters, 55 tracks recorded between the years 1989 and 1993 and contains 4 hidden bonus unreleased tracks recorded Live on Campus Radio at Surrey University celebrating the work we did together and continue to do so...'. Jonathan Levitt of Blurt Magazine, discusses the bands first release 'All That Noise': 'I can clearly remember back to 1990 when All That Noise was released and the first time I spun it on my Doctor Goth radio show.

    While simultaneously listening to the sinister opening bass notes of 'Guitar Voodoo' and staring at the cryptic album cover I was transfixed by a band that was thankfully outside of any contrived musical movement being pushed at the time, Madchester anyone? The album is propelled along a very clear trajectory giving a heavy nod to 60's psych along the way. Now some 27 years on, the album remains as it did upon my first listen, a psychedelic gem existing in its own space and time, filled with a sinister, brooding and beguiling set of tracks that continue to astonish.'

    Track Info:
    Discs 1 and 2 contain the critically acclaimed debut album All That Noise'remastered plus alternate versions, mixes, instrumentals, demos, bonus unreleased live tracks and an interview recorded in 1990.

    Disc 3 contains the follow up to second critically acclaimed album Mellomania, remastered in full.

    Disc 4 contains dub remixes and remastered Mayhem To Meditate EP.

    Disc 5 contains the Bomp Records Lunar Surf EP, remastered Jukebox At Munster's single, the previously unreleased lost 3rd album and demos.

    CD 1:
    1. Guitar Voodoo
    2. Found Love
    3. She Don't Come
    4. Good For Me
    5. Love In A Burning Universe
    6. All That Noise
    7. Spend Some Time
    8. Don't Stop The Rain
    9. Soul Deep
    10. Waiting For The Angels
    11. Sweet Vibrations..

    CD 2:
    1. Guitar Voodoo Alt Mix
    2. Found Love Alt Mix
    3. She Don't Come Alt Mix
    4. Good For Me Alt Mix
    5. Love In A Burning Universe Instrumental
    6. All That Noise Alt Mix
    7. Spend Some Time Alt Mix
    8. Soul Deep Instrumental
    9. Waiting For The Angels Alt Mix
    10. Head In The Sand Demo
    11. Waiting For The Angels Demo
    12. Sweet Vibrations Demo
    13. Good For Me Demo
    14. She Don't Come - Live on Surrey University Campus Radio
    15. Blues One - Live on Surrey University Campus Radio
    16. Interlude On Mars - Live on Surrey University Campus Radio
    17. High Rise Love - Live on Surrey University Campus Radio
    18. Recorded Interview 1990..

    CD 3:
    1. Always Pleasure
    2. Feelings Flow
    3. Tornado
    4. Mystic Morning
    5. Someday
    6. Are You For Real ?
    7. 24 Hours
    8. Cry For Me
    9. Rise..

    CD 4:
    1. Waiting For The Angels 12' mix
    2. This Mystic Morning
    3. This Mystic Remix
    4. This Mystic Remix
    5. This Mystic Dub
    6. Cry For Me Single Remix
    7. The Straightest Shot
    8. This Time Is Mine
    9. The Heart Of The Sun ..

    CD 5:
    1. Feel Too Real
    2. Retroglide
    3. SOS Bomp EP version
    4. SOS Alt Mix
    5. Space Walk Bomp EP version
    6. Space Walk Alt Mix
    7. When Fate Deals It's Mortal Blow
    8. SOS Agent Ugly version
    9. There's A World Outside
    10. High Time
    11. Easter Everywhere
    12. Ride Around
    13. Frankie Teardrop

    Release Date: 12/01/2018
    Visit product page