Arrow Fat Left Icon Arrow Fat Right Icon Arrow Right Icon Cart Icon Close Circle Icon Expand Arrows Icon Facebook Icon Instagram Icon Twitter Icon Hamburger Icon Information Icon Down Arrow Icon Mail Icon Mini Cart Icon Person Icon Ruler Icon Search Icon Shirt Icon Triangle Icon Bag Icon Play Video


DJ Manny 'Greenlight'



DJ Manny 'Greenlight'


Sold out

Free Download of the song 'Ghost Out' for all orders!

Vinyl + T-Shirt Bundles Available
S - 34/36" // M - 38/40" // L - 42/44" // XL - 46/48" // XXL - 50/52"

Greenlight by DJ Manny is the fifth release from TEKLIFE Records.

This 10 track LP is a masterclass in footwork production by one of TEKLIFE's leading figures. Born and raised in Harvey on the South-Side of Chicago, DJ Manny has been footworking since the age of ten. The Footwork sound has developed in unison with the dance style that accompanies it, and Manny embodies this synergy.

DJ Manny is without doubt one of the best dancers on the scene, harnessing control, grace and power in every movement. So when he steps into the studio,he knows instinctively how to create tracks that make you want to move your feet. Instead of relying on chopped up samples, DJ Manny is more inclined to pickup the microphone himself, and this gives Greenlight an original and individual personality. On the opening track titled Way you Move, his flow is soulful and almost verging on melodic. His laid back drawl sounds equally great on club bangers like Life in This Bitch and If U Want It.

As a young man, DJ Manny was the protégé of the late great DJ Rashad, and Rashad's influence reverberates through classic - sounding footwork tracks like Boop Me Down and I'll Hurt Ya Baby. Elsewhere on Greenlight, DJ Manny explores different moods to great effect. Ghost Out is atmospheric and menacing, with a sparse, minimal rhythm and fearsome low end pulsing through siren synths. Life In This Bitch is a defiant statement of self-affirmation, and Zancrash feat.

DJ Taye is uplifting and dreamy, with complex rhythmic patterns evocative of vintage jungle records. DJ Taye makes a significant contribution to this record, collaborating with DJ Manny on 5 productions including the title track.

A fellow TEKLIFE squad member, Taye is a highly accomplished producer in his own right; Expect to hear more from him very soon on HYPERDUB Records.

Greenlight also features guest appearances from DJ Lucky, DJ Chap and Sucia.

Side A:

1. Way You Move Featuring Dj Chap
2. You Looking Good Featuring Sucia
3. Like That
4. Zancrash Featuring Dj Taye
5. Boop Me Down Featuring Dj Lucky

Side B:
1. Ghost Out
2. I'll Hurt Ya Baby Featuring Dj Lucky And Dj Taye
3. Life In This Bitch Featuring Dj Taye
4. If U Want It Featuring Dj Taye
5. Greenlight (Wanna Go) Featuring Dj Taye