Arrow Fat Left Icon Arrow Fat Right Icon Arrow Right Icon Cart Icon Close Circle Icon Expand Arrows Icon Facebook Icon Instagram Icon Twitter Icon Hamburger Icon Information Icon Down Arrow Icon Mail Icon Mini Cart Icon Person Icon Ruler Icon Search Icon Shirt Icon Triangle Icon Bag Icon Play Video

Kooky Records

The Durutti Column 'Chronicle LX : XL'


Kooky Records

The Durutti Column 'Chronicle LX : XL'


Sold out
The partly autobiographical album was first commissioned for a performance in April 2011 at The Bridgewater Hall, Manchester. During this period, Vini and Poppy (his girlfriend of 9 years) parted company and it was a heartbroken Vini that went on to complete the production.

Despite the breakup, Poppy had agreed to perform on piano that evening for two of the songs that she had written with Vini accompanying on guitar. Over the following three years, the artist has battled serious illness and has not played a full show since. It was ' and still is ' a very difficult time physically, mentally and emotionally for Vini Reilly. The compositions reflect a particular stage in Vini's recent life.

At the Bridgewater Hall show, a pre-release limited edition CD was available exclusively for that show, with a note by Vini explaining the background to the new work. Whilst Chronicle began as an autobiographical project, events in his life during recording the album brought a new twist to the project.

Chronicle 1 and LX: Chronicle 2 ' The Music.
Bruce Mitchell (Drums and Percussion)  "So there are two versions of Chronicle. We did a special edition for the gig at the Bridgewater Hall, where people could get the album as part of a premium ticket deal. In 2011, we premiered the music there, with all Vini's photographs up on the screen.

That was the last gig really. The following day, Phil Cleaver from Kooky said he'd got back home to find his emails full of requests from the audience to buy one. So they all sold out, immediately. But soon afterwards Vin became really ill."  "It was a big, expensive recording, Chronicle. And Vin, despite being ill, did this further version, taking all aspects of musical life.

So there's Chronicle 1 and Chronicle 2. What I wanted Vini to do as a composer was something similar to Elgar's Enigma Variations. A piece of music about certain people in a life. I wanted him to do this and link the music to photographs he'd taken over the years. Vin's a great photographer."  

However, Reilly remains the Durutti Column's indisputable leader, and had the last say. Bruce continues: "I didn't quite get what I wanted, because in the end, Vini wanted the album to be about his life at this point in time. We couldn't finish it for a while because Vin was in such a bad way. But now it's there. And we've got some very interesting, very powerful music on this. Vini doesn't think show business. To him, it's all about a musical imperative."

Chronicle LX - The Package This package continues the Durutti Column's tradition of the innovative.

This special packaging contains personal images from the artist's camera and photographic collection. Continuing the autobiographical theme, the packaging will acknowledge previous releases through parts of its design and materials used herein. A foil blocked burgundy textured clamshell box will contain: A full colour saddle stitched booklet with an introduction by Bruce Mitchell and a collage of photographs from Vini's own personal collection:

A map (randomly selected one of six designs) redrawn in 'Obey the Time' purple and yellow showing a place of importance to the artist.

A grey foil blocked certificate.

Two compact discs in wallets.

Chronicle  One:
1. 'Fanfare' 
2. 'Embattled Heart And Rattling' 
3. 'Synergetic' 
4. 'Poppy & Pancho' 
5. 'The Rest Of A Life ' 
6. 'The Water Colour Class' Featuring Jill Taylor 
7. 'Nine Years' 
8. 'Party' (The Version)  
9. 'Mello' 
10. 'Mercy In The Cathedral' 
11. 'To Raise A Gentle Smile' 
12. 'Pancho & Poppy' 
13. 'Fanfare Reprise' 
Chronicle Two: 
1. 'Free From All The Chaos' Feat. Caoilfhionn Rose Birley 
2. 'Electrostatic' Feat. Caoilfhionn Rose Birley 
3. 'Follow' Feat. Caoilfhionn Rose Birley 
4. 'Misery' Feat. Caoilfhionn Rose Birley 
5. Big Bill Rance' 
6. 'The Tabla  Bong Guitar 
7. 'Hotel Calderon' 
8. 'Dry On The Rocks' 
9. 'Sharrock's Tune' 
10. 'The Changes Go Up And The Changes Go Down' 
11. 'For Jammer James' 
12. 'Juan Montero & The Drum'

Chronicle Online Bonus Material

An additional third black wallet contains a sandpaper insert c/w unique access code to further content.
Music ' Full original version previously commercially unreleased
Live versions of tracks with Poppy Morgan 
Stems from A Paean to Wilson Images ' Further images taken by the artist to complement the booklet
Rare unseen press shots and film proofs from archive material Gigography ' The definitive list of Durutti shows up to the present day.