Arrow Fat Left Icon Arrow Fat Right Icon Arrow Right Icon Cart Icon Close Circle Icon Expand Arrows Icon Facebook Icon Instagram Icon Twitter Icon Hamburger Icon Information Icon Down Arrow Icon Mail Icon Mini Cart Icon Person Icon Ruler Icon Search Icon Shirt Icon Triangle Icon Bag Icon Play Video

Godfathers' Recordings

The Godfathers 'A Big Bad Beautiful Noise'


Godfathers' Recordings

The Godfathers 'A Big Bad Beautiful Noise'


Sold out

Available on LIMITED EDITION 180g vinyl + Download Card + A3 Poster and CD.

Legendary British rock & roll group The Godfathers kick-start 2017 with one almighty bang via a career best, new studio album 'A Big Bad Beautiful Noise' - to be released February 10th on the band's own Godfathers Recordings2 label through Cargo Records in the UK & Europe.

They precede the release of 'A Big Bad Beautiful Noise' (the first album to feature the newly revitalised Godfathers' line-up of founder member & frontman Peter Coyne. guitarists Steve Crittall & Mauro Venegas, drummer Tim James & bassist Darren Birch) with the single 'You Don't Love Me' on February 3rd & then celebrate by performing extensive tours, concerts & festivals worldwide to promote it. 'A Big Bad Beautiful Noise' represents an exciting new chapter for the London band, but The Godfathers have had a long & illustrious career.

They were formed in 1985 by brothers Peter Coyne (vocals) & Chris Coyne (bass/vocals) from the ashes of their previous band The Sid Presley Experience. The Godfathers toured extensively & quickly earned a serious reputation for their electrifying brand of primal rock & roll & their incendiary live shows around the world. Forming a recording partnership with famed producer Vic Maile they cargogodreleased 4 critically acclaimed, smash hit independent singles on their own Corporate Image label (Lonely Man', This Damn Nation', I Want Everything'& Love Is Dead') which alongside a brutal cover of Lennon's Cold Turkey'were compiled into their seminal debut album release Hit By Hit'in '86 & signed a worldwide deal with Sony/Epic records in 87.The Godfathers unleashed the storming rocker Birth School Work Death'as a single in '87 & scored a US Billboard top 40 hit after massive college radio airplay & heavy MTV rotation.

Then the classic Birth School Work Death'album was released in '88 (includes the 'hit' anthem title track, & singles Cause I Said So'& a re-recorded Love Is Dead') & was promoted with extensive tours of the UK, Europe & America as they cemented their reputation as one of the best live acts of the period. Celebrity fans included among others David Bowie & Johnny Depp.

The Godfathers'mob inspired image, raw lyrics & guitar-driven, edgy rock & roll sound was in direct contrast to the clean, synthesized sounds that mainly dominated the mainstream charts at that time & foreshadowed the Brit-Pop/Rock resurgence of the early 1990's. 1989's album More Songs About Love And Hate'(featuring the American college radio smash single She Gives Me Love'and live favourite Walking Talking Johnny Cash Blues') was followed by the death of producer Vic Maile & the departure of guitarist Kris Dollimore, who was replaced on guitar by Chris Burrows for Unreal World'(which included the American radio hit Unreal World'& a searing cover of The Creation's psychedelic classic How Does It Feel To Feel') in 1991.

A provocatively titled live Godfathers'album Dope, Rock & Roll & Fucking In The Streets'was issued in 1992 on Corporate Image & the band toured the globe constantly. With a new line-up The Godfathers released 2 further albums on Intercord Records, a self-titled album in 93 (AKA 'The Orange' album because of its distinctive cover art) & Afterlife'in '95, before the group finally imploded in 2001.

In 2008 The Godfathers reformed their original line-up to promote a vastly expanded 2CD version of their seminal debut album Hit By Hit'& performed a select number of British, European & American dates & festivals together for the first time in nearly 20 years. These included the highly successful revival of their traditional Saint Valentine's Day Massacre concerts with knockout, triumphant performances at The Forum in London in February '08 & Chicago's Metro in February '09.

The Godfathers have become increasingly influential in recent years with Top 5 American artists Local H & Spoon releasing cover versions of Godfathers'classics 'Birth School Work Death'& This Damn Nation'& Mars Volta citing The Godfathers'primal rock & roll sound as a direct influence on their Noctourniquet'album.

'The Godfathers - Shot Live At The 100 Club' a Live DVD/CD was released November 1st 2010 to mark the 25th anniversary of the bands formation & 'Jukebox Fury' The Godfathers' first new studio album in 18 years was released worldwide in March 2013 to critical acclaim & rave reviews.

With the 2017 release of their new album 'A Big Bad Beautiful Noise' The Godfathers have taken a huge, sonic step forward. Look out world - 'A Big Bad Beautiful Noise' is coming.

1. A Big Bad Beautiful Noise
2. Till My Heart Stops Beating
3. You Don't Love Me
4. Poor Boy's Son
5. One Good Reason
6. Miss America
7. Defibrillator
8. She's Mine
9. Feedbacking
10. Let's Get Higher
11. You And Me Against The World