Arrow Fat Left Icon Arrow Fat Right Icon Arrow Right Icon Cart Icon Close Circle Icon Expand Arrows Icon Facebook Icon Instagram Icon Twitter Icon Hamburger Icon Information Icon Down Arrow Icon Mail Icon Mini Cart Icon Person Icon Ruler Icon Search Icon Shirt Icon Triangle Icon Bag Icon Play Video

DNA Records

  • Ryan O'Reilly 'Can’t Stand The Sound' - Cargo Records UK

    DNA Records

    Ryan O'Reilly 'Can"t Stand The Sound'

    Sold out

    Sold out
    Sold out
    Ryan O'Reilly, a new favourite of mine' - Chris Hawkins, BBC Radio 6

    'He has a sound all his own. The sound is just as original as the lyrics - ¦' Portrait

    'Truly astounding harmonies and mesmeric live.' Communion

    'Ryan O'Reilly is the perfect antidote to our era of production line pop. To see him live is to be reminded of what music's really all about: people, passion and poetry.' The Evening Standard

    Recorded between the chaos and bustle of a New York cinema on Bedford Avenue, Brooklyn and the windswept loneliness on the south-side of the Isle of Wight in the spring of 2017, I Can't Stand The Sound is the second album from Berlin based English/Irish songwriter Ryan O'Reilly.

    Produced by David Granshaw and in collaboration with Canadian, Tyler Kyte the album is an exploration in searching for meaning, the meaning in a fatal car accident, the beauty and darkness on the streets of Berlin, comprehending the American landscape at the end of 2016 and trying to filter out the noise of relentless opinions on 24 hour news TV and online.

    Littered with snapshots from myriad conversations; A Grandmother's warning that ghosts are never as dangerous as humans, talking to a loved one after a terror attack, a fall from a horse, with a hangover whilst reading in the bath and the faceless people who blithely tell you to 'live your dreams' the characters and conversations restlessly change locations and perspectives. I Can't Stand The Sound began life on the journey between New York and Tennessee in the aftermath of the American election in 2016, the long conversations, the search for conclusions and reasoning in a void of reason.

    Written on municipal Frisbee-golf course in East Nashville, a front porch in Hamilton, Ontario and along side the beautiful, dirty Spree in Ryan's adopted hometown of Berlin each place finds it's way into the heart of the album.

    In May 2017 Ryan, Tyler and Dave travelled back to New York. Joined by members of Toronto's Dwayne Gretzky and Ryan's European touring partners The O'Pears to begin recording of I Can't Stand The Sound in the Cinema/bar where the journey towards the album began six months earlier.

    1. Don't You Know That
    2. Make It Holy
    3. Never Be Afraid of Ghosts
    4. I Can't Stand the Sound
    5. People Tell You
    6. The Modern World
    7. Flesh & Blood
    8. Conversation
    9. Somethings Really Wrong
    10. Till It Ends
    Visit product page