Arrow Fat Left Icon Arrow Fat Right Icon Arrow Right Icon Cart Icon Close Circle Icon Expand Arrows Icon Facebook Icon Instagram Icon Twitter Icon Hamburger Icon Information Icon Down Arrow Icon Mail Icon Mini Cart Icon Person Icon Ruler Icon Search Icon Shirt Icon Triangle Icon Bag Icon Play Video

Artefact / Differ-ant

  • Rendez-Vous 'Superior State'

    Artefact / Differ-ant

    Rendez-Vous 'Superior State'

    Sold out

    Sold out

    Artefact / Differ-ant

    Rendez-Vous 'Superior State'


    Sold out
    Having spent the last four years roaming the stages of France and Europe, RENDEZ VOUS finally deliver their debut album: SUPERIOR STATE. If taking your time seems like a bit of a luxury in these imperious times, the four boys decided to allow it themselves anyway. The resulting album shakes and stirs. It was produced by the members of the group themselves and mixed in an old refurbished church in Leeds by Matt Peel (Eagulls, Bad Breeding), seasoned practitioner of rugged and ill-discipline English rock. 

    "An intense, visceral experience, one that isn't easily dismissed" CLASH MAG

    ** "A razor-sharp barrage of kraut-influenced noise, it's an unrelenting introduction to a band who have plenty of anger, but channel it perfectly into a hammerblow' - D-I-Y MAG

    ** "The sonic appropriation they make of the Mancunian industrial disenchantment finds its maximal expression throughout the unspoken violence of Francis Mallari's voice, which is able to transmit the rawness of a consented slap in the face" - 4O5

    The mastering was handled by Sarah Register (Depeche Mode, Lou Reed, Protomartyr) in New York.

    On Superior State, Francis Mallari, Elliot Berthault, Maxime Gendre and Simon Dubourg prove that they're not the sort of people who pay much attention to the fragile and ephemeral dictates of fashion or propriety. They've always blazed their own trail by delving into a 360 degree spectrum of influences, without looking back or burdening themselves with codes or etiquette.

    All of which results in a record that stands outside time, and noise, and proves that the band follow their own noses, always hoping to destroy monuments as well as build them up, all in one stroke, just to maintain a certain freedom of movement.

    Power drilling without being pig-headed, brutalist without being illegible, Superior State blurs the usual boundaries by building a fire with all kinds of wood : post punk, industrial music, shoegaze, neo-folk, a nod in the direction of black metal, all passed through the shredder of a group who can only find its true essence in letting go. To breathe easier, with less of those 1980s ticks,

    Rendez Vous have cut back on the synths and drum machines and recorded with a real drum kit, basing their production on hybrid rhythms. What's more, the band have now been augmented by a real drummer in the shape of Guillaume Rottier (Quetzal Snakes, Holy Gray). The aim isn't just to cause trouble, but to mark time, find a rhythm that's just right for them and preserve a vital independence. To that end, the group have launched their own label - Artefact (ATF) - through which they are releasing this their debut.

    Rendez Vous are Francis Mallari (vocals, bass), Elliot Berthault and Maxime Gendre (synths, machines, backing vocals), Simon Dubourg (guitar). They've recently been joined by Guillaume Rottier on drums.

    1. Double Zero 
    2. Paralysed 
    3. Sentimental Animal 
    4. Last Stop 
    5. Superior State 
    6. Crisis 
    7. Middle Class 
    8. Lakes 
    9. Exuviae 
    10. Order of BaJesse Osbornel
    Visit product page