Arrow Fat Left Icon Arrow Fat Right Icon Arrow Right Icon Cart Icon Close Circle Icon Expand Arrows Icon Facebook Icon Instagram Icon Twitter Icon Hamburger Icon Information Icon Down Arrow Icon Mail Icon Mini Cart Icon Person Icon Ruler Icon Search Icon Shirt Icon Triangle Icon Bag Icon Play Video

Fire Records

The Groundhogs 'Thank Christ for the Bomb' Vinyl 2xLP


Fire Records

The Groundhogs 'Thank Christ for the Bomb' Vinyl 2xLP


Sold out

2000 only. Gatefold sleeve. Red slipcase, Poppy DL card, Poster, Ration book liner notes. All tracks on DL.

Celebrating its 50th Anniversary, ‘Thank Christ For The Bomb’ (Major Edition) is reissued on double vinyl with gatefold sleeve - complete with ration book, poppy card and bonus tracks.

A hugely influential album cited as the embryo for punk, grunge and beyond. Featuring epic 1970 concepts from this far reaching trio much praised by Underworld’s Karl Hyde, Captain Sensible, Stephen Malkmus and a host of others.

‘Thank Christ For The Bomb’ is a visionary tale of cold war fear, alienation and everyday drama.

“This is a masterpiece!” New Musical Express.

A thinking man’s rumination on alienation, the album is a game of two halves; side one tackling the thermo nuclear threat while side two traces riches to rags alienation in everyday London.

Also featuring Radio 1 sessions and live versions of key tracks including a lengthy take of ‘Soldier’ recorded for the BBC’s In Concert series.

First of a trio of ground-breaking albums that steered the band from the Blues into a heavier, more prog-based sound and a true reflection of their much-praised live sound.

Vinyl LP 1
Side A:
1. Strange Town
2. Darkness Is No Friend
3. Soldier
4. Thank Christ for the Bomb

Side B:
5. Ship On The Ocean
6. Garden
7. Status People
8. Rich Man, Poor Man
9. Eccentric Man

Vinyl LP 2
Side C:
10. Garden (Radio 1 sessions)
11. Eccentric Man (Radio 1 sessions)
12. Garden (Live At Leeds)
13. Eccentric Man (Live At Leeds)

Side D:
14. Soldier (Radio 1 Sessions)